

Executive Committee Minutes

May 9, 2023 10 am – 12 pm MEDC – Lake Michigan Conference Room – 300 N. Washington Sq. Lansing, MI Or Virtually via Zoom

Members Present & Virtual Attendance:

Beth Ardisana Fay Beydoun Kyle Caldwell Awenate Cobbina April Clobes Bobby Hopewell Gina Jacquart Thorsen Tom Lutz Mike McLauchlan Bob McMahan LaJune Montgomery Tabron Bill Pink Brian Rich Tony Tomczak¹ Beverly Walker-Griffea

Members Absent:

Krista Flynn Sheldon Neeley

Staff Present:

Amiee Evans Steve Bakkal Lynne Feldpausch Christin Armstrong Jen Nelson Amy Rencher Michelle Grinnell Linda Asciutto Kelly Watkins Lindsay Kirchinger Jill Trepkoski Phil Shaltz Ryan Waddington

Michele Wildman Brad Heffner Michele Wildman Quentin Messer Tupac Hunter Matt McCauley Kerry Ebersole Singh Lavonne Blonde Greg Bird Val Hoag

I. Call to order

Mr. Cobbina called the meeting to order at 10:06 am. He requested that Ms. Armstrong provide any necessary communications, there were none. A roll call was performed to determine attendance. A quorum was declared present. The meeting was held at the Michigan Economic Development Corporation at 300 N. Washington Sq. Lansing, MI 48913. Members of the Executive Committee, MEDC staff, and the general public could also participate via Zoom.

¹ Mr. Tomczak's oath of office was pending filing with the Office of the Great Seal as of May 9, 2023. As such, vote totals for all actions reflect 14 members of the Executive Committee.

MICHIGAN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

II. Public Comment

Mr. Cobbina invited public comment, Mr. Anterjot Singh Bains, who also joined the March 14th meeting, introduced himself and thanked the committee for allowing public guests and for their services on the Executive Committee.

III. Chairman's Report

Mr. Cobbina asked if there were any questions, changes, or corrections to the March 14, 2023, minutes. There were none. *Beth Ardisana moved to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2023 meeting and Fay Beydoun supported the motion. A vote was taken with 14 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.*

Mr. Cobbina welcomed and introduce new committee members:

Mr. Brian F. Rich, Consumers Energy

Mr. Tony Tomczak, DTE Energy

Mr. Gina Jacquart Thorsen, Jacquart Fabric Products

Dr. Beverly Walker-Griffea, Mott Community College

Mr. Cobbina also noted the reappointment of: Dr. Bill Pink, Ferris State University Ms. Beth Ardisana, ASG Renaissance

Mr. Cobbina noted two long-term Executive Committee members had either a term expiration or a retirement. He thanked both Ms. Chris MacInnes and Mr. Dave Meador for their support and contributions over the past several years to the Executive Committee. Mr. Cobbina presented a Tribute to Ms. Chris MacInnes. *Mike McLauchlan moved to approve the Tribute and Beth Ardisana supported the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 14 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.* Mr. Cobbina presented a Tribute to Mr. Dave Meador. *Kyle Caldwell moved to approve the Tribute and Bobby Hopewell supported the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 14 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.*

Mr. Cobbina advised with Ms. MacInnes and Mr. Meador's departure, a new Chair for the Audit & Governance and Compensation & Personnel Subcommittees will be needed. Mr. Cobbina recommended Tom Lutz as Chair of the Audit & Governance Subcommittee. Beth Ardisana moved to approve Tom Lutz as Chair of the Audit & Governance Subcommittee and LaJune Montgomery Tabron supported the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 14 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously. Mr. Cobbina recommended Krista Flynn as Chair of the Compensation & Personnel Subcommittee. Dr. Pink moved to approve Krista Flynn as Chair of the Compensation & Personnel Subcommittee and Bobby Hopewell supported the motion.

MICHIGAN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

A roll call vote was taken with 14 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.

April Clobes departs at 10:31 - rejoins at 10:40

IV. CEO Report

Mr. Messer thanked the committee members for their leadership and introduced Mr. Tupac Hunter, MEDC's, Senior Vice President of External Affairs. He requested MEDC colleagues provide updates on specific topics: Mr. Bird, Legislative update; Ms. Wildman, RAP application; Ms. Rencher, Small Business Services; Mr. Bakkal, Entrepreneurship & Innovation; and Ms. Grinnell, supported by Ms. Ebersole Singh, Talent Campaign Overview. Each provided the requested updates and received feedback and questions from Executive Committee Members.

Bobby Hopewell departs at 11:00

V. Open Discussion

Mr. Cobbina opened the floor for any open discussion. Brian Rich asked how we develop scorecard metrics and what we track relative to what other states are doing. Steve Bakkal provided a brief overview of how we pull our scorecard together. Tony Tomczak wondered how we capture what others are doing and sharing best practices. Mr. Messer advised of our membership with the IEDC and our Site Selector Program. LaJune Montgomery Tabron commented on our excellent programs and resources we offer but wondered if we have done any analysis around packaging our programs for different communities. Mr. Messer indicated that this is a work in progress as MEDC staff will be participating in a Legislative Work Group that will take a look at our programs and how we can be more regionally relevant. Dr. Pink added that we need to continue to educate and re-educate communities on economic development; April Clobes added all communities, not just rural communities.

Dr. Pink departs at 12:13pm

The meeting was adjourned at 12:16pm