

Executive Committee Minutes

March 19, 2024 Cambria Detroit, 600 W. Lafayette Blvd., Detroit MI 48226 Or Virtually via Zoom

Members Present & Virtual Attendance:

Beth Ardisana **Sheldon Neeley**

Fay Beydoun Brian Rich

Awenate Cobbina Gina Jacquart Thorsen

Tony Tomczak Krista Flynn

Bobby Hopewell Beverly Walker-Griffea

Mike McLauchlan

Members Absent:

Kyle Caldwell LaJune Montgomery Tabron

April Clobes Santa Ono Tom Lutz Bill Pink Bob McMahan Phil Shaltz

Ryan Waddington

Staff Present:

Lynne Feldpausch Christin Armstrong Steve Bakkal Tupac Hunter Lavonne Blonde **Quentin Messer** Aileen Bovan Matt McCauley Will Chaffee Jen Nelson Natalie Davenport Jill Trepkoski **Amiee Evans** Michele Wildman

I. Call to order

Mr. Cobbina called the meeting to order at 10:10 am. He requested that Ms. Armstrong provide any necessary communications. There were no communications. A roll call was performed to determine attendance. A quorum was not present. The meeting was held at the Cambria Detroit, 600 W. Lafayette Blvd., Detroit MI 48226. Members of the Executive Committee, MEDC staff, and the general public could also participate virtually via Zoom.

II. **Public Comment**

Mr. Cobbins invited public comment. There was no public comment.





III. CEO Report

Mr. Messer thanked the committee members for their leadership and continued service. He provided MEDC's FY23 in review pointing out the new People, Places and Projects format, recognized successes, the recent foreign trade mission to Taiwan and South Korea as well as an update on the recent MEDC reorganization.

10:40am Sheldon Neeley joins the meeting. A quorum is declared present.

IV. Chairman's Report

Mr. Cobbina asked if there were any questions, changes, or corrections to the January 30, 2024, minutes. There were none. Sheldon Neeley moved to approve the minutes of the January 30, 2024, meeting and Fay Beydoun supported the motion. A vote was taken with 11 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Nelson provided an overview of the amended public comment policy, noting that this policy aligns with the MSF Board public comment policy. Ms. Nelson asked if there were any questions. There were none. Bobby Hopewell moved to approve the amended public comment policy and Krista Flynn supported the motion. A vote was taken with 11 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Personnel & Compensation Subcommittee Report

Mr. Cobbina requested that Ms. Flynn and Ms. Feldpausch provided an update on behalf of the Personnel & Compensation Subcommittee Report. Ms. Flynn provided an overview of the CEO evaluation process and summarized the survey response rate.

Resolution Authorizing Closed Session

Mr. Cobbina noted that Mr. Messer requested a closed session to review and discuss his performance. Krista. Flynn moved to authorize the closed session and Sheldon Neeley supported the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 11 aye votes and 0 nay votes. The resolution was passed unanimously.

Closed Session began at 10:50 am and ended at 11:28 am.

CEO Performance Evaluation

Mr. Cobbina provided an overview of the closed-session discussions regarding the CEO's performance evaluation. He noted that the survey results and the Executive Committee discussion supported that Mr. Messer earned an exceeds expectations rating and determined it was appropriate to authorize the Chairperson to execute an increase of between 3-6% to Mr. Messer's base salary and consider a performance bonus between 6.5-10% in the next 60 days, with the final determination being effective as of March 19, 2024. Sheldon Neeley moved to approve the variable pay authorization and Krista Flynn supported the motion. A vote was taken with 11 aye votes, 0 nay votes. The motion passed unanimously.



VI. Finance Subcommittee

Ms. Ardisana presented, and requested approval of, the 2025 budget timeline. With no questions, Mike McLauchlan moved to approve the 2025 budget timeline and Krista Flynn supported the motion. A roll call vote was taken with 11 aye votes and 0 nay votes. The resolution was passed unanimously.

VII. Open Discussion

Mr. Cobbina opened the floor for any open discussion. There was no open discussion.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:46am.

